WDSU wins five first-place Louisiana AP Awards: Reporter of the Year, Weathercast, Breaking Weather, Breaking News and Feature


Travers Mackel – Reporter of the Year

WDSU was the recipient of five first-place awards from the Louisiana Associated Press on Saturday in Baton Rouge. Event photos here.

WDSU reporter Travers Mackel was named “Reporter of the Year.” It’s the second time in three years a WDSU reporter claimed that award. Heath Allen won in 2012.

WDSU Chief Meteorologist Margaret Orr won first place awards in the categories of Breaking Weather and Weathercast.

Travers Mackel and photojournalist Kevin Duckworth won for best Breaking News Coverage.

Photojournalist Megan Spencer and I won first place in the Feature category for “Grandmother Keeps Family Tradition Cooking.”

%d bloggers like this: